A11y Bytes 2021

A11y Bytes is back for its ninth year celebrating Global Accessibility Awareness Day.

This year, we’ll be changing up the format, as we celebrate throughout the day.

A series of lightning talks about digital accessibility and the needs and preferences of people with disabilities will be posted on our YouTube channel throughout Global Accessibility Awareness Day, followed by a live Q&A and networking session in the evening.

The heart of digital accessibility and inclusion is not about guidelines, codes or regulations. It’s about people, and life, and how we live, how we access information, and how our lives are affected by the technologies of today.

As many as 500 people have attended online Bytes events, as well as physical events in Brisbane, Canberra, Melbourne and Sydney attended an A11y Bytes event, making this the largest community run accessibility event in Australia. The event has since branched out into parts of New Zealand and it continues to grow.

You don’t have to be an accessibility aficionado to attend. This event is about us all talking, thinking and learning about digital accessibility and inclusion together.

Take part in A11y Bytes and connect, be inspired and have some fun as we talk, learn, grow and change the world.

Time and date


A11y Bytes will be on Thursday 20 May. Presentations will be shared throughout the day on the A11y Bytes YouTube channel.

The live networking event at the end of the day will run for 1 hour. It will give you the opportunity to meet ask any questions you have about the presentations, and connect with others who are celebrating Global Accessibility Awareness Day.

Here’s when the Bytes live event is in different timezones.

  • 3 pm – 4 pm AWST (Perth)
  • 4.30 pm – 5.30 pm ACST (Adelaide)
  • 5 pm – 6 pm AEST (Melbourne, Sydney, Canberra, Brisbane)
  • 7 pm – 8 pm NZST (New Zealand)

How to join


No sign-up or registration is required this year. All sessions will be available on the A11y Bytes YouTube channel. All presentations will be captioned.

Close

Join our mailing list