A11y Bytes 2020

A11Y Bytes is back for its seventh year celebrating Global Accessibility Awareness Day.

This year, we’ll be doing things a little differently, and moving things online due to COVID-19.

Join us for a dynamic fast-paced evening of lightning talks about digital accessibility and the needs and preferences of people with disabilities.

The heart of digital accessibility and inclusion is not about guidelines, codes or regulations. It’s about people, and life, and how we live, how we access information, and how our lives are affected by the technologies of today.

Last year, over 500 people across Brisbane, Canberra, Melbourne and Sydney attended an A11y Bytes event, making this the largest community run accessibility event in Australia.

You don’t have to be an accessibility aficionado to attend. This event is about us all talking, thinking and learning about digital accessibility and inclusion together.

Come to A11y Bytes and connect, be inspired and has some fun at this casual evening where we talk, learn, grow and change the world.

Time and date


A11y Bytes will be on Thursday 21 May. The event will run for 3 hours, with a 15-minute pre-event show beforehand. There will be 12 presentations that are 10-minutes in length.

Here’s when Bytes is in different timezones.

  • 2 pm – 5 pm AWST (Perth)
  • 3.30 pm – 6.30 pm ACST (Adelaide)
  • 4 pm – 7 pm AEST (Melbourne, Sydney, Canberra, Brisbane)
  • 6 pm – 9 pm NZST (New Zealand)

How to join


No sign-up or registration is required this year. All sessions are streamed live on the A11y Bytes YouTube channel. Sessions will be live captioned.

Close

Join our mailing list