A11y Bytes 2022 Schedule


Pre-recorded presentations are being released across 3 days on the A11y Bytes YouTube channel. The table below indicates what time they’ll be released.

Day / Time Monday 16 May Tuesday 17 May Wednesday 18 May
10am Informed voting with ABC Vote Compass – Gerry Neustatl How to get the most (accessibility) out of a design system – Steve Barnett What conflict teaches us about accessibility – Tori Clark
11am How Mainstream Media Can Be More Accessible to Neurodivergent Audiences – Rachel Worsley TV accessibility – Past, present and future – Michelle Chu ResearchOps and accessibility – Bri Norton
12pm Tweaking component colours to be distinguishable in direct sunlight – Vernon Fowler Adventures in accessibility: journey before destination – Jamie Watterson Plumbers with leaky taps: Why aren’t not-for-profits leading the way in digital accessibility? – Jodi Martin
1pm The ear-con dilemma: when WCAG and usability don’t get along – Lauren Hayes Effective live regions to convey the loading state of your web app – Ross Mullen Accessible vs inclusive museums – Alina Butolina
2pm SignHow: changing the world one sign at a time – Sophie Li
Descriptive transcript of Sophie’s presentation (Word, 18kb)
Making accessible forms the norm – Matthew Holloway Current state of aria-modal – Fahad Lambate

Note: All times are in Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST, GMT +10).

Live Q&A

On Thursday 19 May, A11y Bytes will be hosting a live Q&A at 3pm AEST. The live Q&A will be held through Zoom, and we’ll post a recording on our YouTube channel afterwards. The live Q&A will have live captioning and Auslan interpreters. During the Q&A, you’ll have the opportunity to ask this year’s presenters any questions about their presentations, and connect with others to talk all things accessibility as a part of Global Accessibility Awareness Day. The following presenters will be in attendance:

  • Alina Butolina
  • Bri Norton
  • Fahad Lambate
  • Gerry Neustatl
  • Lauren Hayes
  • Matthew Holloway
  • Michelle Chu
  • Ross Mullen
  • Sophie Li
  • Steve Barnett
  • Tori Clark
  • Vernon Fowler

Join our mailing list